image

Chichester Canal 1828 J.M.W. Turner



Chichester Canal 1828 J.M.W. Turner

Turner was one of the first artists whose work I loved and sought out. I was able to visit the Tate Gallery in the late 70s and made a beeline, as I remember, for the Turners (I remember seeing a Lichtenstein too, and being impressed by it, but pop art, at least in some respects, is easy). I can’t tell you what it was that attracted me to Turner’s work. I was very young, not at all literate as far as art goes. Maybe it was the ships and trains which figure in some of his better known works. But I think it was the light. Just look at his use of light in the above painting. In a sense it is nothing BUT light. The impressionists, rightly so, are acclaimed for the light which suffuses many of their works. I am not well versed in art history, but I wouldn’t be surprised if many of them studied Turner’s works and were inspired by them.

